From a very young age, laid out in front of the TV in my little onesie  I was a lazy bugger. Not my parents fault, heaven knows they tried (Karate, Table Tennis, Sea Cadets, Sports). Just naturally lazy. The kind of lazy where if something drops on the floor, I would wait until I was passing later in the day to pick up said item.

The worst kind of lazy. I would cut corners tidying up (no one looks in cupboard anyway!), I would leave the washing up in the sink for a damn good 2 hour soak just so I didn’t have to scrub hard to remove the stains, I would look for shortcuts in every aspect of my school work.

– Used lots of bullet points in my written work (to avoid the need for unnecessary words!- also, how meta!)

– Used shorthand and my own abvs where possible (much to all my teachers dismay!).

– Used to bulk my homework together so I didn’t have to move once i’d started. (Sod all that spacing things out malarkey to give the brain room to breathe!).

Lazy.

But yet hear I am. Not the smartest person in the world (Don’t get me wrong, Whilst i’m no Euler or Newton, i’m sure as hell no TOWIE candidate!) and yet I made it. I made it into and have successfully survived in the world of teaching!

Well, in the end it turned out that I was actually able to turn my laziness into an asset. Yes, I looked for shortcuts, and you know what. I found them. I was able to think differently about a problem. I let my brain do all the work so my body didn’t. My problem solving skills got better and better and better. (Would you believe it!)

As I grew older and began teaching, I took pleasure in ‘cheating the system’, and then began actively finding new ways to break all the rules. As it turned out this was often harder than the task I needed to do but it didn’t matter. The motivation I found was unlike anything i’d found before and it inspired me to learn some basic programming (Python!) so I could look for new ways to be even lazier! I was able to create a basic program that solved quadratics/ trig/ and other maths problems (Long since deleted now! 😦 ), able to create worksheets that randomly generate numbers into questions (because using excel would have been too easy apparently! :-/ ) and (as I currently write) an unfinished text based adventure with a heavy maths theme and questions that require you to get right in order to progress.

Now that time has moved on i’ve come to realise that i’m not actually THAT lazy. From an outside point of view I might have appeared sloth-like but inside I was thinking, planning, plotting and preempting. I anticipate and try to put things in place so that when I am required to do something (surplus to my classroom commitments of course! I don’t (*NSFW link*) fudge around with that!) it can be done with minimum distruption to my day.

The realisation has only really hit home in the last year or so. Since that time it’s helped me to develop a new sort of respect (ish) for the lazies in my classes. I will often try and challenge them to find short-cuts/ alternate rule sets or put their laziness to test by challenging them to summarise long wordy questions.

We need to be able to spot the difference between lazy and LAZY but boy when you do! Good things happen to… ah maybe I’ll just finish this la…

Andy x

(non-lazy post-blog comment: If you managed to wade through this turgid mess of exposition and grammatical debris. Well done – 10 Vivo’s to you!)

